Massachusetts School of Law is accredited by the New England Commission of Higher Education (formerly the Commission on Institutions of Higher Education of the New England Association of Schools and Colleges, Inc.).

Accreditation of an institution of higher education by the Commission indicates that it meets or exceeds criteria for the assessment of institutional quality periodically applied though a peer review process. An accredited college or university is one which has available the necessary resources to achieve its stated purposes through appropriate educational programs, is substantially doing so, and gives reasonable evidence that it will continue to do so in the foreseeable future. Institutional integrity is also addressed through accreditation.

Accreditation by the Commission is not partial but applies to the institution as a whole. As such, it is not a guarantee of every course or program offered, or the competence of individual graduates. Rather, it provides reasonable assurance about the quality of opportunities available to students who attend the institution. Inquiries regarding the accreditation status by the Commission should be directed to the administrative staff of the institution. Individuals may also contact:

New England Commission of Higher Education
3 Burlington Woods Drive, Suite 100, Burlington, MA 01803-4514
(781) 425 7785

Massachusetts Department of Higher Education
Contact Information:
Main Office
Phone: 617.994.6950
Email: General Email Form
Mail: One Ashburton Place, Room 1401, Boston, MA 02108
Fax: 617.727.0955 or 617.727.6656

Office of Student Financial Assistance
Phone: 617.391.6070
Mail: 454 Broadway, Suite 200, Revere, MA 02151
Fax: 617.727.0667

For complaints regarding higher education institutions:
Visit the Student Complaints section.

Massachusetts School of Law at Andover is accredited by the New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE). After it began operation in August 1988, Massachusetts School of Law at Andover sought approval from the Massachusetts Board of Regents. The Regents authorized Massachusetts School of Law to grant the degree of Juris Doctor in May 1990, only twenty-one months after Massachusetts School of Law opened its doors. Because of the Regents’ approval, MSLAW graduates are eligible to take the state bar examination and, upon passage, to be admitted to the bar in Massachusetts. In December 1997, NEASC (now NECHE) awarded accreditation to the Massachusetts School of Law.

Professional Licensure as an Attorney
Massachusetts requires graduates to pass the Uniform Bar Examination before becoming eligible to be licensed as a lawyer. The Uniform Bar Examination is a multiday test that uses multiple choice questions, essay questions, and two professional skills exercises to gauge a graduate’s performance in a number of important areas. There are over 35 states that now use the Uniform Bar Examination as the principle test with each state having additional character and fitness, educational, and financial responsibility requirements. Because each jurisdiction establishes specific educational and fitness qualifications for professional licensure, you should verify exactly what the state you are interested in being licensed in requires for eligibility. The National Conference of Bar Examiners publishes the Comprehensive Guide to Bar Admission Requirements on bar
admission requirements in all US jurisdictions, including a directory of state bar admission agencies and is a reputable source for bar admission requirements and licensing information

Since state rules and policies change, you should consult the jurisdiction’s bar admission agency directly for the most current information. Many jurisdictions have made emergency changes to rules, policies, and exam administrations in light of the COVID-19 pandemic. More changes are likely to occur.

Please note, while MSLAW is authorized to offer its courses remotely to students located in SARA member states and territories, and some JD coursework may be completed online during upper level study, there are significant in-person components of our JD program which require students to spend a meaningful amount of time at our Andover, MA campus. Therefore, the JD program we offer cannot be completed 100% online at this time. If you are located outside of Massachusetts and would like to attend MSLAW, please contact Rohit Bhasin, Director of Admissions, to ensure that you will be able to travel to Andover for the mandatory in-person components of our program of study.

Jurisdictions where MSLAW graduates may be admitted to the bar either immediately after passing the bar examination or after being admitted to the bar and practicing law for the time specified:

  • Alaska: 5 years
  • Arizona: 3 years
  • California: Immediately after passing the Uniform Bar Exam
  • Colorado: 3 Years
  • Connecticut: Immediately
  • District of Columbia: 3 Years
  • Florida:  5 Years, or after 2 years w/ LLM from ABA-approved school*
  • Hawaii: 5 Years
  • Indiana: Graduate may petition for a waiver to sit for Indiana Bar Exam
  • Kentucky: 3 Years
  • Maine: This State’s requirements are under review. Please inquire for additional information.
  • Maryland: MSLAW students have received individual permission after admission in Massachusetts
  • Massachusetts: Immediately
  • Minnesota: 5 Years
  • Missouri: 3 Years
  • Nevada: 10 years
  • New Hampshire: Immediately after passing the Uniform Bar Exam, or may be waived in via motion after practicing 5 years
  • New Mexico: 4 Years
  • New York: 5 Years
  • North Carolina: Pass Uniform Bar Exam and then seek admission
  • Oregon: 3 Years
  • Pennsylvania: 5 Years
  • Rhode Island: 5 Years
  • Tennessee: 3 Years
  • Texas: 3 Years
  • Utah: 10 Years
  • Vermont: 3 years after practicing law in New Hampshire or Maine or 5 years otherwise
  • Washington: 3 Years + LLM from ABA-approved school
  • West Virginia: Immediately after passing the Uniform Bar Exam
  • Wisconsin: Immediately after passing the Uniform Bar Exam

States permit applications for a waiver of some standards but if a waiver is not granted, MSLAW graduates are presently not permitted to be licensed in the following states: Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Michigan, Montana, Nebraska, New Jersey, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Virginia, and Wyoming.

*If the applicant does not have a qualifying LLM, the applicant must first practice law for 5 years in another jurisdiction as described above before being eligible to submit a representative compilation of work product for review.